Inexpensive storage ideas🎁


‎السّلام عليكم ورحمت الله و بركاته 
Hey!

Welcome back:D

And this time I really mean it. Ramadan is over, Eid is done and now I’m back with my blog life. Yay!

By the time Eid was over, it was time for a cupboard clean out. It was such a mess and decided to do a deep cleaning 2 days ago. If you have been following my blog for some time, you probably know that I don’t see every junk as ‘junk’. I do not throw anything unless I feel it has no potential to be recycled in the form of a DIY craft. So you pretty much already have an idea what must be there in DIY-able stuff collection(if that makes sense). Yes, ‘fortunately’ I had collected a lot of useful junk in a huge cover at the end of the whole clean out session. Whew!

So I decided to make my comeback with a post on how to recycle a few things that you consider absolute junk! 

Let’s get started! 

First I am making the soap dish with the thermocole apple tray. I wasn’t planning to keep the tray so I broke it into two when this idea struck my head. My roomie had asked me to make some DIY dish to keep one of the dishwasher scrubs. So this is what it turned out to be.

1. Break the apple tray into 2 halves and superimpose them. Glue the bottom of one tray onto the other.

2. To make it look a little prettier, I cut out a square out of thick paper and stuck it in the centre. Done.


Place your soap or anything you wish to store in a small dish on it and that’s it. Here’s how it looked!


So there you have, totally inexpensive yet useful!

Next, I am making a pot out of youghurt cup. I have been looking for a pot for planting a small plant for the purpose of room decor. I love the idea of indoor plants and I wanted to place one on my window sill. So this is how I made a beautiful pot for a tiny succulent( I don’t know the plant name).

1. You need a yoghurt cup of a desirable size.

2. Paint the cup or cover it with washi tapes or laces. I wanted a ‘posh’ kind of look and so I painted the cup with the Fabrica pearl copper metallic paint. These paints are amazing and they are available on amazon. I’m sure you’ll like the colour on the pot!

3. Then with a pin I made a hole at the bottom of the pot for draining purposes. The alternative draining method is to lay down pebbles at the bottom of the pot. I went on with the hole. In case you are using a plant that needs a lot of watering, you need to place something like a flat plate at the bottom to make up for any leaking. I used the top of a Pringles bottle though in case of my plant it wasn’t necessary.


OMG! That looks Bomb! Doesn’t it? 

If you don’t have green fingers and can’t think of planting something on your own, maybe you could plant a fake plant. That would still be beautiful! Maybe, in a future post, I would love to show you how to make fake flowers too!

Next I’m making a DIY washi tape dispenser. You’ll need a small sized carton with the width of a popsicle stick, 3-4 popsicle sticks and some craft paper.

1. Cut open the box to obtain a box with its one side completely open and with a depth of the things you are planning to store in it. 


2. Cover up the box with some craft paper.


3. Place the popsicle sticks with spaces apart and once this is set, with scissors make a few slots on either side to hold the popsicle sticks in place.

4. Place the washi tapes, ribbons or anything you wish to store within the holder. Maybe you could also make one using toothpicks for holding your rings too;)


Just look at that! Completely inexpensive! Now I don’t need to look around for all my washi tapes whenever I need them. They are just perfectly displayed👌🏻

Finally, I have a book holder for study table top. All you need is 2 cereal boxes, some craft paper and some glue.

1. Place the cereal boxes vertically one in front if the other. 

2. Cut down one cereal box to half of its size. The other to a little less than that.


3. Place the smaller box in front and glue them together.

4. Cover them up completely in craft paper. I did cover up the imperfect borders with some matching washi tapes. I also wrote the words ‘#HUSTLEHARD’ over the front portion of this amazing book stand.


Beautiful & at the same time useful! I’m loving it. I use it to store my daily planner(that I spoke of in this post) and the book I’m currently reading!✌🏻

I hope you enjoyed this post. These were fun to make and also things that can be put to use some way or the other. Hopefully, this gave you some idea that not everything you toss into the waste bin is really a waste. I’m also planning to do a part-2 to this post in some time. Try out some of these and let me know in the comments below.

Happy DIY-ing!🎁

See you in my next post very soon!

Bye!👋🏻

Author:

Budding medico, food lover, avid reader, DIY-er and above all Slave of Allah...:)

13 thoughts on “Inexpensive storage ideas🎁

Leave a Reply

