Posted in Uncategorized

Everything in moderation!✨

IMG_1399‎السّلام عليكم ورحمت الله و بركاته

Hello and welcome back!

Few days ago, as I scrolled down my YouTube recommendations, I happened to watch a video featuring Erin on The Doctor’s show. If you haven’t heard of her, she is a women who suffers from an addiction to exercise. Yes, exercise! How many times have you and me been told ‘ Exercise! Exercise is the key to fitness’. But what if it was excess?
Erin from San Diego is consumed with exercise and she works out 8 hours a day. She just can’t stop herself from working out. She is now, in tears, seeking medical help to get out of the obsession.
Since then, I have been thinking about how important it is to draw balance in our lives. To know where to go an extra mile and where exactly to pull the brakes. Moderation is the call of anything successful.

People who sail through a smooth life are those who can attract balance to their lives. We need to sense things much before they take the shape of addiction. Once you lose control of anything, it can only bring in harm. Don’t just do things in oblivion. Remain mindful and monitor your actions wisely.
Workaholics! Shopaholics! Gluttons! Game-junkies! Spendthrifts! Slow down! Don’t forget to pull the reins and live a life with quality.
It would be incomplete if I do not mention how the greatest man to have walked on the Earth sought moderation. There could be no better example than Prophet Muhammed (S) who shined in all aspects of his life including worship, family, social, religious and political aspects. Let me substantiate with an incident from his life. Once three men came to his house to inquire about how much worship he performed. When the men were informed of it, they considered their worship to be insufficient and said ,”Where are we in comparison with the Prophet (S) while Allaah has forgiven his past sins and future sins.” One of them said: “As for me, I shall offer prayer all night long.” Another said: “I shall observe fasting continuously and shall not break it.” Another said: ‘I shall abstain from the woman and shall never marry.” The Prophet(S) came to them and said, “Are you the ones who said such things? By Allaah, I fear Allaah more then you do, and I am most obedient and dutiful among you to Him, but still I fast (some days) and I don’t fast (other days), I pray at night and I also sleep (meaning he does not pray all night), and I married, and whoever does not follow my Sunnah (way of life) does not belong to me.”
With regards to eating he said, “The son of Adam does not fill any vessel worse than his stomach. It is enough for the son of Adam to eat a few mouthfuls to keep him going, but if he must (fill his stomach), then one third for his food, one third for his drink and one third for air.” The saying goes ,’Too much of anything is good for nothing.’ Even devotion. Even food.
President Barack Obama was asked about his approach to balance in life. He says he might have been more successful if he spent more time around politicians, but he would not to chose to do that- because that’s not all that his life demands. He needs to be the dad to his daughters, husband to his wife just as he was being the President to his people. It has always been unusual for entrepreneurs to think this way though.

I want you to pause. Spare a moment to think of all the activities you are into. Are you overdoing any of it? Are your energies spent in the right direction? Or are you not giving something all that it deserves?
Balance. Let it rule your life. A little bit of everything that is good. Or more appropriately, required proportions of all good things. Do not let anything eat you up. Not even your thoughts, friends, food, family, sleep, work or even exercise:/
I’ve learned that it isn’t easy as I thought. I’m never going to see the balance scale of my life stay firm without tipping right or left. Its always going to be a struggle I should engage in. And hopefully, make life worth.

Thanks for reading💜

3 thoughts on “Everything in moderation!✨

Leave a Reply

