Posted in Uncategorized

DIY Storage Box!💛

IMG_0804‎السّلام عليكم ورحمت الله و بركاته
Hello!
Welcome back to my blog!

This time, I have for you ,a step-by-step tutorial on how to make this cute little DIY storage box!
Before I tell you how to ‘build’ one for yourself, let me tell you how it worked for me. Few days ago, I remembered that I had about 4 plastic boxes of dried fruits that I had nicely preserved long ago hoping that I could give it a rebirth in the form of a DIY. I do not know if I should say this, I do not toss anything into the dustbin without giving it a second thought. Who knows? Maybe you could transform into something priceless!
Then, as I rummaged through my ‘junk collection’, my eyes fell upon the little cardboard box in which I had my contact lenses delivered some time ago. I attempted to stuff 3 of those plastic boxes inside this bigger box and ta-daa, it was perfect! That’s how the story unfolds…
So you will need,
📦 empty boxes of chocolates/biscuits (any size, in twos or threes or more(depending on the number of drawers you want ))
🗳 a bigger box that can fit in the smaller boxes you have at hand. You could even cut 5 cardboard sheets and glue their sides and make one to fit in all your drawers.
Cardboard sheet
📿 few beads
✂️ scissors
Glue
Scrap paper or white sheets
🎨 paint and brush

IMG_0841

Procedure:
1. I took each of the 3 plastic boxes and cut its one side open( the side that should serve to put things in). Do the same with the bigger box- open up one side completely.
2. Now place the small box inside the bigger box and measure the space it takes up horizontally. Cut off the excess.

IMG_0851

3. Cut 2 sheets from cardboard or thick paper to serve as a barrier in between the drawers. I cut 2 of them from chocolate boxes. Then I placed all the 3 drawers-to-be boxes and approximated the place where these sheets should be placed, marked them and glued them in.

IMG_0846

4. As there was space left on the sides of each drawer, I cut small squares out of the cardboard sheets ,stacked and glued 2 of them and then glued them on to the sides of each drawer on both the sides equally. Ah! Now the drawers are secure.

IMG_0848

5. You could choose to paint the whole thing or wrap it completely with a scrap paper or washi tape. I was in the process of experimenting, so I wrapped them completely in white paper and then painted the whole thing yellow! 🙂

IMG_0849

6. Glue a button or bead to the centre of each drawer for ease of pulling and pushing it. Add your taste of decorations on it and make it unique.

IMG_0850

You could make them in any sizes you wish to depending on the boxes of biscuits you have stored:P
I apologise in advance if I have fallen short in describing the process. You can always drop in your questions in the comment box below and I will be happy to clarify it for you. And I hope the pictures shed light on the process, if not my explanation:/
I’ve decided to use this to store my bead head pins, bobby pins, rings and so on. And I loved the way it turned out!💛

IMG_0858

I’ll see you soon in my next post!
Bye! 👋🏻

One thought on “DIY Storage Box!💛

Leave a Reply

